Faculty & Staff

Bryan Carter
President/CEO
bryan.carter@gesuschool.org

Meet Mr. Carter

Bryan Carter

Bryan Carter’s life has come full circle as the President of Gesu School, the nationally renowned independent Catholic school serving North Philadelphia’s children. As someone who credits his Catholic grade school and Jesuit high school education with helping him face the challenges of growing up with five brothers in a single-parent household in the heart of Cleveland, he knows first-hand the incredible power a quality education can have for children living in the inner city.

In June 2011, Carter became Gesu School’s 3rd president and CEO since the school became independent in 1993. Prior to joining Gesu School, Carter served as Resource and Community Development Director for the national adoption agency, The Cradle. Through his position with The Cradle, which has placed more than 14,000 children into permanent homes since its founding in 1923, Carter increased the number of donors by 67 percent, increased the number of dollars raised by 86 percent, and achieved goals set for encouraging African-American individuals to become adoptive parents. Carter believes the work was a wonderful way to apply the business skills he developed as an entrepreneur and Pharmaceutical Manager with Johnson & Johnson, Abbott Laboratories, and Pfizer towards a valuable cause while giving back to the community — and he looks at his position at Gesu as an extension of that privilege. Additionally, Carter serves on the diversity committee at Waldron Mercy Academy and on the Board of Directors for the SpeakUp! organization.

Carter holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Political Science and Business Management from Case Western Reserve University. He and his wife, Joan Roebuck-Carter, reside in Chestnut Hill with their daughter, Elaina.

 

Sr. Ellen Convey, IHM
Principal
ellen.convey@gesuschool.org

Meet Sr. Ellen

Sr. Ellen Convey, IHM, has been the Principal at Gesu School since 1990. One board member aptly describes Sr. Ellen’s critical role at Gesu in just two words — "the GLUE." Sr. Ellen began her career in education at the age of 20, as a 4th grade teacher at an inner-city parochial school in Philadelphia. She later taught in elementary schools in Somerville, New Jersey; Athens, Georgia; and Reading, Pennsylvania. She has a B.A. from Immaculata University and an M.A. in Religious Studies from St. Charles Borromeo Seminary.

During her career, Sr. Ellen has received a number of awards, including the inaugural Robert Molyneux, S.J., Award from the Center for Catholic and Urban Education at Saint Joseph's University in 2013 for making "exceptional advances in innovation and efficacy for Catholic schools – capturing the essence of the magis – to do something of deeper worth, in the current moment, for the greater need." The Please Touch Museum presented Sr. Ellen with the Great Friend to Kids Award for Education in 2001, and in 2004 she was the first recipient of the Sherrerd Excellence in Teaching Award. The Catholic Historical Society honored her, along with Fr. George Bur, S.J., and Winston J. Churchill, with the Barry Award, in November 2006, for their enthusiastic dedication to Gesu School.

 

Rev. Neil Ver’Schneider, SJ
Assistant Principal, Chaplain
neil@gesuschool.org

 

Robert S. Weinstein 
Vice President of Development
rob.weinstein@gesuschool.org

 

Bob Gagliardi
Finance Director
bob.gagliardi@gesuschool.org

 

Alana Lee
Assistant Dean of Discipline
alana.lee@gesuschool.org

 

Jose Gonzalez
Director of Graduate Support 
jose.gonzalez@gesuschool.org 
 

Counseling, Discipline, and Chaplaincy

Meet the Counseling Team

Rev. Neil Ver’Schneider, SJ
Assistant Principal, Chaplain
neil@gesuschool.org

Alana Lee
Vice Principal 
alana.lee@gesuschool.org

Jonathan Jackson 
Counselor
jonathan.jackson@gesuschool.org

Amanda Rice
Counselor 
amanda.rice@gesuschool.org 

Jeanne Wood
Counselor
jeanne.wood@gesuschool.org

Development Team

Meet the Development Team

Robert S. Weinstein
Vice President of Development
rob.weinstein@gesuschool.org

Monifa Moore
Director of Major Gifts
monifa.moore@gesuschool.org

Sarah Stirzel Cuzzolina
Director of Annual Giving
sarah.cuzzolina@gesuschool.org

Dia Becker 
Director of Corporate and Foundation Relations
dia.becker@gesuschool.org

Megan Ryan
Director of Communications
megan.ryan@gesuschool.org

Faculty

Meet the Faculty

Kathy Asta
Kindergarten Teacher
kathleen.asta@gesuschool.org

Vito Asta
Kindergarten Aide
vito.asta@gesuschool.org

Sr. Mary Bur, IHM
Librarian
mary.bur@gesuschool.org

Melanie Colozzi
1st Grade Teacher
melanie.colozzi@gesuschool.org

Tammi Crummy
5th Grade Girls Teacher
tammi.crummy@gesuschool.org

Sean Deal
Physical Education Teacher
sean.deal@gesuschool.org

Rufino de Santos
6th Grade Boys Teacher
rufino.desantos@gesuschool.org

Caroline Dodds
2nd Grade Teacher 
caroline.dodds@gesuschool.org

Dr. Eileen Erwin
Backe Advanced Writing Teacher
eileen.erwin@gesuschool.org

Dana Gilbert
Learning Support Teacher
dana.gilbert@gesuschool.org

Linda Hartzell
Art Teacher
linda.hartzell@gesuschool.org

Jackie Johnson
First Grade Aide
jacqueline.johnson@gesuschool.org

Erin Kelley 
Pre-K Teacher
erin.kelley@gesuschool.org

Taylor Klein
Advanced Math Teacher 
taylor.klein@gesuschool.org

Pat Leaf
Science Lab Coordinator
patricia.leaf@gesuschool.org

Mary Liva
3rd Grade Girls Teacher
mary.liva@gesuschool.org

Tiana Mack
1st Grade Teacher
tiana.mack@gesuschool.org

Michael McDevitt 
Technology Teacher
michael.mcdevitt@gesuschool.org

Jessica Miller 
4th Grade Girls Teacher 
jessica.miller@gesuschool.org

Peggy Moore
Pre-K Teacher
margaret.moore@gesuschool.org

Tyrone Myers
3rd Grade Boys Teacher
tyrone.myers@gesuschool.org

Sean O’Brien
4th Grade Boys Teacher
sean.obrien@gesuschool.org

Kathy Paul
Kindergarten Aide
kathleen.paul@gesuschool.org

Annette Pickett
8th Grade Girls Teacher
annette.pickett@gesuschool.org

Desiree Porter
Pre-K Aide
desiree.porter@gesuschool.org

Michelle Randa
6th Grade Girls Teacher
michelle.randa@gesuschool.org

H. L. Ratliff
Music Teacher, Choir Director
hl.ratliff@gesuschool.org

Amanda Rice
2nd Grade Teacher
amanda.rice@gesuschool.org

Thomas Rolland
7th Grade Boys Teacher
thomas.rolland@gesuschool.org

Mary Ryder
2nd Grade Teacher
mary.ryder@gesuschool.org

Taylor Schuck
Kindergarten Teacher
taylor.schuck@gesuschool.org

Michael Talvecchia
5th Grade Boys teacher
michael.talvecchia@gesuschool.org

Andrea Warner
Pre-K Aide
andrea.warner@gesuschool.org

Laura Weatherly
8th Grade Boys Teacher
laura.weatherly@gesuschool.org

Sierra Wilson
Resource Room Teacher
sierra.wilson@gesuschool.org

JoAnne Young
7th Grade Girls Teacher
joanne.young@gesuschool.org

Finance and Tuition

Bob Gagliardi
Finance Director
bob.gagliardi@gesuschool.org

Barbara Williamson
Tuition Officer
barbara.williamson@gesuschool.org

Main Office Staff

Myra Fields
Executive Assistant to the Principal
myra.fields@gesuschool.org

Andrea M. Kellner
Executive Assistant to the President
andrea.kellner@gesuschool.org

Vicki Thompson
Administrative Assistant
vicki.thompson@gesuschool.org

Terry Rivers
Office Volunteer

Maintenance Staff

Terrance Tinsley
Maintenance Supervisor
terrence.tinsley@gesuschool.org

Joseph Caraway
Maintenance Staff

Vernon Gooseby
Maintenance Staff

Jack Martin
Maintenance Staff

Isiah Wilson
Maintenance Supervisor, 2nd Shift

Program Staff

Raven Manrique 
Service Program Coordinator
raven.manrique@gesuschool.org

Denise Jackson
Director of the After-School Program
afterschool@gesuschool.org

District and Supplemental Services

Catherine Neal 
Nurse

Next:Financials »